Adventures in Mod Podge

I’m still fairly new to this stuff and did some experimenting with old picture frames before giving this project a try. The first one came out nice, and I felt less afraid (sorry pictures aren’t great- using my phone).

IMG_2253

My friend was pregnant with a daughter and I wanted to make something for the baby’s room so I decided to give her one of my experimental frames and something with the baby’s name. I swung on over to Hobby Lobby and picked up some small wooden letters, a large wooden letter, a wooden bird, and yellow acrylic paint. I had some scrapbook paper on hand that I planned on using.

I Mod Podged the scrapbook paper onto the bird and letter first (many tutorials on Pinterest about how to do this), but I found this to be a really great one. While the paper was setting I painted the letters and let everything sit for a few hours to dry and cure. Then I used the Mod Podge to attach the letters and bird and let everything sit overnight.

The next morning I generously sprayed the entire project with fixatif (I prefer Krylon Workable Fixatif) to give it a glossy look and make it easy to dust and keep clean.

The picture makes the yellow look brighter than it actually is. But tada!

The picture makes the yellow look brighter than it actually is. But tada!

Leave a Reply

