Leftover Roast- and two pieces of potato.

Moving. Again. The new house is on gas and the gas won’t be hooked up until tomorrow. For tonight I turned to my trusty crock-pot (best gift I have ever been given, I swear) and threw in a roast. Tonight I forgot to thaw any meat and am not really in the mood to cook, to be honest.

Presenting: Leftover roast with two pieces of potato served over rice!

Printer Friendly Version: Leftover Roast over Rice

  • Leftover roast (and remaining potatoes), chopped
  • 1 packet McCormick Taco Seasoning (30% less sodium)
  • Quarter of an Onion, diced
  • 1 can red kidney beans, drained
  • Optional: Shredded cheese (whatever you have hiding in the freezer or refridgerator)
  • 3 cups rice (noodles work, too- it’s all about what’s in your cabinet)
  • Pepper and salt to taste
  1. Start rice (or noodles) according to directions.
  2. Chop up remaining roast and those two pieces of potato (or whatever is left, I also found a carrot hiding in there).
  3. Place ingredients into pan along with remaining roast broth. If no broth is remaining, add water. Medium-high heat.
  4. Toss in onion.
  5. Stir in taco seasoning (random thought: I think I could sauté dog food in this stuff and my family would eat it, to be honest).
  6. Bring to low boil, reduce to simmer.
  7. Add your rice/noodles when they are ready (drain those noodles!)
  8. Stir together, salt and pepper to taste, serve in a bowl topped with shredded cheese.

We really enjoyed this dish! My husband added this word of advice, “it’s increadibly filling! You can get more than one meal out of this for sure!” (sure enough, we both enjoyed the leftovers for lunch the next day).

FYI: I also made extra rice when I cooked the rice for this dish and used the extra rice for a stir-fry dinner the next night.

IMG_2534Sorry for the bad pic, thought to snap it with the phone at the last minute.

Leave a Reply

