Saving on Pancake Mix: Making it myself.

So in an effort to save some money I have decided to start trying to make a few things myself around here and rely less on the store-bought stuff. One item in particular, pancake mix. We go through about a box a month, or about $60.00 a year, roughly. To make my own batch was $1.76 a batch, or roughly $21.12 a year. (This site has a handy little recipe calculator for figuring that out)

Delicious Old Fashioned Pancakes

I did some searching until I came across this delicious recipe. Taking the dry ingredients I created a mix to keep in my canister (I taped the “to make” directions to the front of the canister so I wouldn’t lose them!).

Printer Friendly Version: DIY Pancake Mix (with cooking recipe).

Dry mix:

  • 6 Cups all-purpose flour
  • 14 tsp baking powder
  • 4 tsp salt
  • 4 TBS sugar
  1. Sift all ingredients together and store in airtight container.

To make pancakes:

  • 2 cups of the pancake mix.
  • 3 TBS melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Cup milk
  • ¼ cups water (original recipe does not call for this but I added it to thin the mix)
  1. Combine ingredients
  2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat.
  3. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle
  4. Brown on both sides and serve hot.
Leave a Reply

