A Clean House and an Apology to My Mother

Ever have one of those weeks where everything that needs to be done exceeds all the energy you have? I’m looking around the house right now and see dishes that need to be done, floors that need to be swept, dusting that needs to be done, and just general clutter that needs to be picked up. I have no energy or willpower to do any of it.

I found myself getting frustrated recently, as it seems like everytime I get the house clean someone or something comes along behind me and undoes the work I do. I feel like I’m constantly picking stuff up. Don’t get me wrong, my husband and teen will help without having to be asked twice, but it’s like sometimes people (and the pets) simply can’t see how a glass left on the coffee table (or a lovely hairball in the living room) can annoy me when I’ve cleaned all day.

But then I realize, I must have done the same thing to my mother. I know my father still does. We just don’t realize we do it. We don’t realize the work that goes into keeping a house maintained. Many times since I moved out I’ve found myself telling my mother ‘Thank you’ and ‘I’m sorry’ because I truly did not realize all the work she put into the house. It was always clean, there was always a good cooked meal every night, laundry was always caught up (and I was the teen who changed a gazillion times a day). That woman is amazing. She worked full-time on top of that and we always spent the weekends doing stuff and having fun. I don’t know where she found the time to clean! So mom, once again, I applaud you and I’m sorry for all the times I came along behind you and inadvertently wrecked your work.

Leave a Reply

