The Painted Bottle

After my horribly failed cutting glass bottles experiment, I had a few clear bottles left over. I had an ostrich feather that came in a flower bouquet I had received and I wanted to display it on my vanity in a pretty, but somewhat unique bottle. I decided to try painting the inside of the bottle so it retained it’s clean, shiny look.

The Painted Bottle

I had found this great little sampler paint clearanced at Home Depot for $0.50 a few weeks back so I picked it up thinking eventually I would come up with a use for it. Any paint will work, really, but it seems wall paint works very well and is easy to spread in the bottle. I have tried this previously with acrylic paint and a vase and it was not as easy to spread the paint inside.

IMG_2791

My 50 cent paint sample.

I assembled my necessities: the paint, the bottle, and an old funnel that has been cut to have a wider spout opening and is perfect for projects like this. Oh, and some paper towels which I grabbed as an afterthought.

IMG_2790

Assembled necessities: paint, bottle, and an old funnel.

I inserted the funnel and begin to pour paint into the bottle until it seemed like a good amount.

IMG_2792

Insert funnel. Ignore the teens school stuff in the background.

IMG_2793

Seems like enough paint.

I held the paper towel over the opening of the bottle and proceeded to shake and turn the bottle until the entire inside was coated in paint.

IMG_2794

Using a paper towel as a lid, I shook and turned the bottle until the inside was coated.

Having coated the inside of the bottle, I turned it over and tapped the sides gently until the excess paint came back out.

IMG_2796

Tap the bottle to drip out the excess paint. I’m not sure why it looks gray in this photo??

I let it set for almost a week to ensure it was fully dry inside. Then placed the feather and put it on display!

IMG_3856

Completed bottle.

IMG_3857

Closer shot.

On an additional note: When I finished I immediately wiped and cleaned the funnel. You cannot tell it had paint in it at any point. Yay!

 

Leave a Reply

