Bookcase to Kitchen Storage

So in this last move, my kitchen downsized drastically. I went from having empty cabinets (there’s a rare luxury!) to trying to figure out how to cram the basic kitchen essentials in. There is still a few items I haven’t found a ‘home’ for in the kitchen, but they’re not frequent use items.

I also ended up with an ugly, white bookshelf and no place to put it.

So, Bookshelf, meet my Kitchen. Specifically, the blank space between the table and the door to the laundry room.

I cleaned the shelf and used it to store dinnerware, serving ware, plastic bags (in the bag box!), bread, and other kitchen essentials. Problem was, it looked BLAH, and right now I’m on a tight budget.

Enter the Dollar Store, where I picked up three rolls of decorative, no stick, no slip, self grip shelf liner. I started to put it on the shelves when it hit me, what would it look like in the back of the shelves? I had seen similar things online, but they used wallpaper and Mod Podge. The major advantage to the shelf liner was that it could be cleaned without damage, and very easily.

The results turned out great! The entire project took less than 10 minutes.

Storage!

Storage!

Things you’ll need:

  1. Elmer’s Spray Adhesive (I LOVE this stuff!!)
  2. Shelf Liner
  3. Scissors
  4. Tape Measure
  5. Pen
First thing, to clean the shelf.

First thing, to clean the shelf because that looks dirty.

I cleaned the shelves, measured them, and used my pen to mark the measurements on the back of the shelf liner. And started cutting it down to size.

I sprayed the back of the shelf with my spray adhesive and pressed into place (I found it easiest to press in the middle first and work my way to the outside edges).

Two shelves down, one to go!

Two shelves down, one to go!

Final shelf.

Final shelf.

Finished project!

Finished project!

Leave a Reply

