Lemon Cleaner from Used Lemons (You read that right!)

Who doesn’t love lemons?? And the summertime is the best time to buy them! But what do you do after they’re used?

You make cleaner!! Even better, it’s chemical free.

But first, let’s use those lemons. I was thrilled to purchase lemons on sale (I scored them for 5 cents each), and the teen was happy to set about making some fresh lemonade. Until a little over half way through, then I took over juicing duties as her arm and hand was “seriously, about to fall off”. The lemonade was great and we enjoyed a refreshing glass with dinner.

Now, for those pesky, left over, juiced out lemons.

You need:

  1. Juiced out lemons (minimum of 10)
  2. 8 oz white vinegar (I buy mine either at the dollar store or I’ve often found a bottle for around 70 cents at WalMart)
  3. Container with lid
  4. Funnel, or really good pouring skills
  5. Water
  6. 32 oz spray bottle (about a dollar at any store you go to. The first several times I made this I used an old Lysol spray cleaner bottle that had been emptied and cleaned. It worked great until I accidently *exploded the bottle (see below).

First, put the lemons in a container with a lid. Add water until the container is full (I always have seeds and pulp floating around in mine, it seems. You can strain them out easily but I just don’t bother with it). Let them soak for 24 hours.

My blurry phone pic.

Place lemons and water in a container with a lid and allow them to soak for 24 hours. My apologies for the blurry phone picture.

After 24 hours, grab your funnel (or show off those amazing pouring skills) and fill a spray bottle with 8 oz white vinegar.

Next, pour the liquid from the soaked lemons into the container. Dump your leftover liquid in the sink (really cuts sink odors), and discard the used lemons.

Screw on the lid, give it a shake, and you’re good to go!

Cleaning tip: If you need a little more “oomph” with this cleaner, I’ve found sprinkling baking soda on the surface and spraying it before scrubbing works really well.

I’ve used this successfully on ceramic and tile, stainless steel and porcelain sinks, and glass top stoves.

I don’t love the scent of this straight out of the bottle (it’s the vinegar), but the vinegar odor doesn’t last long and every time I use it my family and any guests always comment that the house has a great lemon-clean smell to it.

*DO NOT add baking soda to the bottle. I tried this once, to make a ‘stronger’ cleaner. The bottle seems fine… until you don’t touch it for 72 hours and it explodes under your sink from the pressure built up inside the bottle. I left it open for several days beforehand to allow the pressure to vent out and thought it was safe to seal back up. Oops.

Here’s the cost breakdown of this particular batch.

15 lemons @ .05 each= $0.75

1 vinegar @ .70=  $1.45

I already had the bottle and the container. 🙂

Leave a Reply

